Thursday, December 7, 2017

What a client thinks

Todays 5 star Google review: "Chris was absolutely amazing. I am so glad he did my inspection. He was very thorough, he explained everything so I understood what was going on. He really showed a concern and was very detailed with his work. I will definitely recommend him to anybody that needs a home inspection."

Monday, October 16, 2017

What a Realtor thinks

Five star google review from a Relator I have worked with for many years: "I always recommend Chris. He is one of the most experienced and professional inspectors that I ever encountered. Decades of experience as a builder, and very familiar with building codes past and present. Excellent with clients (both buyers and sellers) and explaining the items on the inspection whether they are something to be concerned about or not."

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Bananas in Thomasville NC

Never a dull moment in the home inspection field, always encountering something new and unusual. Never know banana grew in Thomasville NC or what would occur if said tree were planted too close to a basement foundation wall.




Tuesday, October 10, 2017

What a client thinks

Today's FIVE star Google review" "By spending the money for this inspection, we were able to negotiate the repairs on some things that needed to be done immediately and save an extra $2,500 on items we can do ourselves later. Chris Hilton was great to work with and very knowledgable in his chosen field. This was money well spent."

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

What a client thinks

September 4th review on Angie's List on a newly constructed home: "Outstanding work. Very professional and pricing was great. Recommend Chris highly, as he takes the time to discuss his findings as he goes - allowing you to comprehend the issues at hand. This lets you decide ahead of time, if there are sever enough issues to cut your losses or if they can be easily resolved. Price below ($716) includes cost of Radon test (48 hour monitor) and home inspection > 3000 sq ft, along with orbiter free benefits post inspection."

Monday, August 21, 2017

What a client thinks

Review from yet another satisfied client on the second home after the first failed to work out:

"I have had the pleasure of working with this fine gentleman who went above and beyond to inspect and assure that I was going to be a safe and happy homeowner. He is an expert in this field as evidenced by his detailed report. He explained findings as he moved from one room to another and allowed time for me to ask question right then."

"Needless to say, I'm very pleased, would definitely use him again, and too happy to recommend him to anyone. He has my stamp of approval!"

Sunday, August 13, 2017

What a client thinks

Young first time home buyer Google Review: "I give 5 (stars) due to Chris Hilton's knowledge finding detailed issues inside and outside the house. He explained in detail of what was happening and how to fix the issues. He has great morals, experience in building houses and knowledge of all codes. To ensure your house is safe you're getting inspected. Very kind and doesn't mind if you tag along with him so he can explain in detail. I highly recommend Chris Hilton over the other inspectors. He is who you want on your side.

Monday, July 31, 2017

What a client thinks

Client review on Google:

"Chris has been wonderful to work with! He inspected two different homes for us during our search for a new home and provided valuable feedback on both. He even went back a second tome to re-inspect something for us and gave a detailed explanation of the results so we could make a fully informed decision."

Monday, July 3, 2017

What clients think

Client's reviews left on Google:

"Chris was awesome! Super thorough and very detailed. Did a great job I was beyond satisfied and definitely felt I got more than my money's worth. Would absolutely recommend him to anyone looking to get a home inspection."

"I have had two homes inspected by Chris (we ended up backing out of the first one) and we loved him both times. He was extremely thorough and explained what he was doing and why. He told us what was good and what might be a concern now or even down the road. He was extremely friendly and professional! We highly recommend him."

Saturday, June 24, 2017

What a client thinks

A realtor shared this comment received from a client: "By the way, Chris Hilton that you guys recommended for the inspection is amazing. I was able to get an incredible insurance quote through a program he signed me up for as well as a great deal for home security."

As advertised our involvement does not stop at the end of your home inspection.

Sunday, May 7, 2017

Weather and Radon Testing

I am often asked why I use the radon testing equipment I use when it is so much more expensive reducing the amount of income on every test compared to most of my competitors. There are many reasons but here is one you can see. The first chart is the effect of a major storm lasting days with heavy rain saturating the ground causing what we call a "lake effect". The second is a shorter duration storm. Interestingly, the second test was in a home with a new active radon mitigation system. Of further interest the first test was in a home which was tested years ago resulting in a low test. I consistently test in homes with past tests conducted using other testing equipment and find the former test to have been drastically inaccurate and the home to have high levels of radon present. With results like this a second test is required (at not cost) during acceptable weather conditions. 

Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge

When considering a radon test for your home ask the following questions:
  1. Does your testing system provide hourly radon level readings?
  2. Is your testing system tamper resistant and how is that accomplished?
  3. Does your testing system provide hourly readings of radon, barometric pressure, temperature and humidity? 
  4. Does your testing system provide a detailed report with charts providing a clear understand of the radon level in your home and issues which may be effecting it?
I am only aware of one testing system which meets these standards. Those are the reasons I only use this system. 

Saturday, May 6, 2017

Who should choose your home inspector?


Our world is filled with contradictions. Here is a good one for you to figure out:

  • The best recommendation for a home inspector is from your Realtor.
  • The worst recommendation for a home inspection is from your Realtor.

Who should know more about home inspectors than anyone else? Realtors because they work with them on an ongoing basis. Therein lies the problem. They know about home inspectors therefore they have the ability and knowledge to steer you toward the home inspector of their choosing. Is that what you should desire? 

Realtors detest the use of the word steering. They will claim that they do not steer their clients. You can take it from someone who has been involved, in one way or another, with Realtors his entire life and is becoming old and gray headed at sixty six years old sleeping with one every night. All Realtors steer their clients. They may be blunt and simply clearly state the home inspector they recommend that you use and offer to book for you now. They may give you a list of three or five and still recommend one over the other. They may give you a short list and tell you that it is up to you to choose. What Realtors will seldom do is advise you that information about home inspectors is available on the internet and you should go figure it out for yourself.

Wow, now what the heck am I supposed to do?

It begins with knowing, understanding and attempting to discern the intent of your Realtor. How do you do that? It is really not that difficult. There are Realtors who are all about selling homes and there are Realtors who are all about protecting and providing everything in the best interest of their clients. You have spent time with this person and should clearly be able to discern the difference. If your Realtor is what I call a "happy home" Realtor then you better be careful. Where did I come up with that term? I am explaining to a buyer how the basement has been improved to hide the fact that water has been flowing in from the rear yard during major storms and flooding this basement as the Realtor keeps going on and on about what a "happy home" this is. As you have been visiting homes with your Realtor do they only point on the best features of the home or do they also point out the negatives? How many times have they said "It looks like there is a water problem with this home." "This heating and/or cooling system look really old." "This roof looks worn out." If your Realtor has pointed out those negative types of features then they may not be a "Happy Home" Realtor and you may be comfortable trusting their recommendations for home inspectors. If not you may not want to consider anyone they recommend.

Yesterday as I was considering writing this post I receive the following email from from my website:
"I'd like to know all about what you offer as a home inspector if possible. I have another company my Realtor lined up for me and a contract waiting to be signed but I really like what I see and read on your website. Please let me know at your earliest convenience." 
The only person who should make the final choice on who conducts your home inspecton should be you.

Even if you are convinced, without a doubt, that your Realtor has your best interest at heart don't blindly accept their recommendation. Even if your Realtor recommends me and suggests that they will book the inspection for you. Stop and check out the inspector they are recommending. What are you looking for first? Experience, Experience and Eperience. What is their background? How long have they been inspecting homes? As you check out home inspectors online there is one very obvious thing you should take notice of.  What do they tell you about themselves? Does their website include a detailed resume? Could there be a reason they don't talk about themselves? Experienced, reputable home inspectors know that you want to know about them and they will clearly tell you. Can't learn about their background and experience? Look for someone else.

There are some home inspectors who are so confident that you will be pleased with their work that they will offer your money back if you aren't pleased. Their are some so confident that they will not only return your money but if you attend the home inspection, read the report are not pleased they will not only return your money but will pay up to an equal amount for a second home inspector of you choosing to inspect the home again. Look for that. It speaks volumes!


Begin the process of finding your home inspector here:
Not bashful about my resume: Click Here
Not bashful about how I conduct inspections: Click Here

Don't stop there! Check out other home inspectors by googling "home inspector (my location)"
End up back here? Price, find available times and (if you are convinced) book your home inspection: Click Here

My goal, and the goal of your Realtor, should be for you to book the very best home inspector available in your market. Determine that I am not it. No problem book with the other guy.